Browse through the archives of our 2019 Legacy Award recipients and be inspired by their stories.

In The Diana Award’s 20th anniversary year, the charity hosted the second biennial
‘Legacy Awards’.

The 2019 Legacy Award recipients were presented with the Legacy Award by Earl Spencer at the Painted Hall in the Royal Naval College on 26 November 2019. Earlier in the day they spoke with HRH The Duke of Cambridge about their work at Kensington Palace.

2019 Legacy Award recipients have access to a unique Development Programme which began in London during a residential experience three days before receiving their awards at a star-studded ceremony. The Development Programme will continue until the next cohort of Legacy recipients is announced in 2021. 


Aditi is a passionate volunteer and leader whose humanitarian efforts have left a lasting impact on her community.

Ahmad is a powerful voice against youth radicalisation and for the right to an education for all young people.

Avye, founder of Girls Into Coding, shares her knowledge and skills to empower young women to explore coding.

Ben has encouraged open conversations about teenage mental health, impacting his community by promoting a culture of openness and awareness.

Connor has overcome multiple challenges to become a passionate advocate and fundraiser for other young people with a brain injury.

Córa-Laine, an inspiring advocate for those affected by abuse, has positively impacted the lives of many young people through the charity Safeline.

Daniel, founder of YouthPolitics UK, seeks to galvanize all young people to make their political views heard.

Eban, a passionate sportsperson and volunteer, spreads his enthusiasm by working for sports to be accessible, and enjoyed, by all.

Erick is driven to improve global health by educating people about the dangers of resistance to life-saving drugs.

Ezara-Mai, a committed fundraiser for Great Ormond Street Hospital, won’t stop until every young patient’s voice is heard.

Gabby is dedicated to protecting our environment, encouraging positive climate action, and beating plastic pollution.

George’s charity, Run With George, has raised over £770k for Alder Hay Children’s hospital and inspired a nationwide campaign.

Kanchan, a social entrepreneur, women’s rights advocate and anti-poverty activist, is inspiring and mobilising new generations to serve their communities.

Madhav and his non-profit Green the Gene develop innovative tech solutions for communities in acute environmental crises.

Maya, an activist for equality, social justice and human rights, is driven by a fundamental belief in fairness and inclusivity for all.

Muna, co-founder of Integrate UK, has worked tirelessly to campaign against and educate people about Female Genital Mutilation.

Olivia, a dedicated philanthropist, has channelled her love of football into activism by campaigning against sexism in the sport.

Ross, a dedicated volunteer and talented origami artist, has helped the lives of many individuals within his local and wider community.

Shomy strives for clean water for all and educate people, irrespective of background, about the importance of sanitation and hygiene.

Victoria, creator of OneAfricanChild Foundation, believes in the right to a quality education for all children.


Take a look back at the 2019 ceremony and the award recipients.


© 2020 The Diana Award. The Diana Award is a registered charity (1117288 / SC041916) and a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales number 5739137.