Our board of Trustees help us continue our mission as the living legacy to Princess Diana’s belief that young people have the power to change the world for the better.

Our board of Trustees help us continue our mission as the living legacy to Princess Diana’s belief that young people have the power to change the world for the better.


Wayne Bulpitt founded the Active Group Limited in 2002 and has over 35 years’ experience in creating, managing and developing investment products and regulatory services from a commercial perspective.

At the same time as successfully building Active Group and associated businesses, Wayne has been a passionate supporter of philanthropy and volunteering, especially in the support and development of young people. He was at the centre of the strategic leadership of the Scout Movement in the UK from 2001, overseeing its significant transformation and growth and was made a Vice-President in September 2016.

A highly regarded inspirational leader and philanthropist, Wayne’s significant contributions were recognised in the 2017 Birthday Honours when he was made Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) for his voluntary services to young people.


James joined the RBS Group in 2012, initially working across the Personal Banking franchise before moving to the Commercial Bank where he is now the Business Management lead for NatWest’s Business Banking franchise, which supports nearly one million SME customers across the UK.

James attained his Bachelors degree in Law from Durham University and his postgraduate degree in History from University of Oxford. A keen rugby player to this day, during his university years James represented England at student level with 3 caps, in addition to being awarded a Rugby Blue from Oxford.

James is a champion for young people in business, recently founding a new Digital and Innovation Apprenticeship to provide career opportunities for students from underprivileged backgrounds. He was recognised in 2018 with a City of London’s Leaders of Tomorrow award.


Kate Hardcastle has been an Ambassador for The Diana Award since 2013, helping to build awareness and sponsorship opportunities. Kate is a successful businesswoman with award winning success in delivering commercial ventures and partnerships. Kate has also forged a highly successfully media career and is the go-to business expert for BBC TV & Radio, ITV and Sky News.

Alongside her business career, Kate has established numerous charitable causes including the award winning Dreamgirls and Positive Image, aimed at inspiring confidence in young people. Kate is a champion for women in business, sports and media, winning numerous awards including Marketing Society’s Marketer of the Year, Tesco’s Enterprising Mum of the Year, and Entrepreneur of the Year at the Creme de la Creme Awards.


Patsy Kane has worked in senior management in education for thirty years. She was Headteacher in an inner city Manchester high school for seven years when a local school went into Special Measures for Safeguarding and Behaviour, The Diana Award trained Anti-bullying ambassadors, who became key figures in transforming the school, which was then judged Outstanding. Patsy became the Executive Headteacher of the new cooperative academy trust, which was committed to developing the young leaders of the future. Patsy has also been a national Council and Executive member of the School and College Leaders Association (ASCL) and has been made an honorary lifetime member for her contribution.

Patsy contributed to Manchester’s Strategic Education Partnership and fostered strong links with Manchester University and The Alliance Manchester Business School.Patsy is now a trustee on the Coop Academies Group, delivers the National Professional Qualification for Executive Headteachers and coaches senior staff in schools. Patsy was awarded an OBE for services to education in The New Year’s honours list in 2019.


Elizabeth is a mother to two tech-savvy little boys, a lawyer from California, a law professor in France and an eSafety consultant in the EMEA region. She is a monthly contributor to France 24 on parenting in the digital age.  Elizabeth worked with The Diana Award on the ENABLE anti-bullying campaign from 2014-2016 to create support for children, parents and policy-makers.

Elizabeth is a member of the Working Group of experts on Digital Citizenship Education and an independent expert on Digital Parenting and Children and Internet for the Children’s Rights Division of Council of Europe.  She is an advisor on European Cooperation and International Projects for e-Enfance, a French online child protection association providing support to parents and children in the digital age. And her core work involves staying abreast of trends and challenges in technology and researching solutions for parenting in the digital age.



Michael received The Diana Champion Volunteer Award in 2011 for contributing to the work of the Children’s Commissioner, he helped run Birmingham Takeover Day in 2010 and conducted research for a major report into protection of young people.

Michael finished a year-long role as the sabbatical Community Officer of the University of Nottingham Students’ Union last year, where he worked with the local council to create highly lauded housing and employability schemes. He now works as a Campaigns Manager at Bite The Ballot CIC. He’s also a regular contributor for an online current affairs magazine called “The Orator.”


Lindsay is a chartered accountant (ACA) and psychology graduate. After working for a City of London firm as a business and charity adviser post qualification, she has held senior leadership team finance and operational roles in national charities for over 28 years. These include the Alzheimer’s Society, YMCA England and Wales and the Scout Association. Lindsay is currently completing a interim project as CEO of YMCA George Williams College which specialises in youth work education and research. She also took a lead role in governance of these charities.

As volunteer treasurer, Lindsay served 11 years on the board of England’s national governing body for netball. She has just finished a five year term as President of England Netball during a period where the sport (which is aimed at keeping women and girls of all ages active) has rapidly grown in popularity. Competition has become more visible at elite and community levels, with the England Roses winning for the first time Commonwealth Gold in 2018 and staging an award winning Netball World Cup in Liverpool during 2019. Lindsay is an ardent believer in the personal development and leadership potential of volunteering, especially for young people.


Rt Hon David Cameron MP

Former Prime Minister and MP for Witney

Dame Julia Samuel

Patron of the Child Bereavement Charity and friend of Diana Princess of Wales

Lord Jack McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Scotland’s former First Minister (2001-2007)

Esther Rantzen CBE

Broadcaster and founder of ChildLine



Singer and model

Twist and Pulse

Founders of Streetomedy

Asafa Powell

Jamaican Sprinter

Paul and Rob Forkan

Founders of Gandy’s Flip Flops

Maggie Turner OBE

Former Chief Executive of the Diana Award and Head of CHIPS programme at ChildLine

Sandara Kelso-Robb MBE

CEO, Giving Northern Ireland

Carrie Grant

Judge and coach on BBC1’s ‘Fame Academy’, ITV’s ‘Pop Idol’, ‘Comic Relief does Fame Academy’ and ‘Glee Club’

© 2020 The Diana Award. The Diana Award is a registered charity (1117288 / SC041916) and a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales number 5739137.