Patrons, Ambassadors, Trustees

Meet The Board



Wayne Bulpitt founded the Active Group Limited in 2002 and has over 25 years of experience of creating, managing and developing offshore investment products and services from a commercial perspective.

Wayne is a passionate supporter of social entrepreneurship, especially supporting and developing young people. In 2009 he became The Scout Association’s first UK Chief Commissioner with responsibility for leading the UK movements 550,000 members.

Wayne is very active is his own community of Guernsey where he has donated and renovated two historic properties and transformed them into successful youth centres. Wayne is also a founding member of the Guernsey Community Foundation, whose aim is to promote effective philanthropy.



After working in the US for over 4 years Peter returned to the UK and was appointed Restaurant Manager for the Babylon Restaurant at The Roof Gardens in London, part of Virgin’s Limited Edition portfolio of stunning properties. In 2009 he won the “Restaurant Manager of the Year Award”.

Peter has led on a number of charitable causes centred on fundraising to help young people with AIDS and HIV access medication. In 2002 he founded an event at the Roof Gardens in partnership with the Elton John foundation and his team raised close to £1M. Last year Peter ran the London Marathon and won the Virgin Stars of the year Award for his service to the community.



Kate Hardcastle has been an Ambassador for The Diana Award since 2013, helping to build awareness and sponsorship opportunities. Kate is a successful businesswoman with award winning success in delivering commercial ventures and partnerships. Kate has also forged a highly successfully media career and is the go-to business expert for BBC TV & Radio, ITV and Sky News.

Alongside her business career, Kate has established numerous charitable causes including the award winning Dreamgirls and Positive Image, aimed at inspiring confidence in young people. Kate is a champion for women in business, sports and media, winning numerous awards including Marketing Society’s Marketer of the Year, Tesco’s Enterprising Mum of the Year, and Entrepreneur of the Year at the Creme de la Creme Awards.



Emily Murrell has been inspired by the work of The Diana Award and is delighted to now be at the heart of making sure the charity continues to grow and reach as many young people as possible.

Emily currently works as a Policy Advisor in the Cabinet Office. She has mentored unemployed young people in the Westminster area and has volunteered with the UK Youth Parliament and various NGOs, including Oxfam and the Fairtrade Foundation. She has a first degree in Social Policy and Government from London School of Economics and a Masters in EU International Relations and Diplomacy.



Michael received The Diana Champion Volunteer Award in 2011 for contributing to the work of the Children’s Commissioner, he helped run Birmingham Takeover Day in 2010 and conducted research for a major report into protection of young people.

Michael finished a year-long role as the sabbatical Community Officer of the University of Nottingham Students’ Union last year, where he worked with the local council to create highly lauded housing and employability schemes. He now works as a Campaigns Manager at Bite The Ballot CIC. He’s also a regular contributor for an online current affairs magazine called “The Orator.”



Martin began his working life as a local government accountant but for most of his 39-year career worked for bodies representing local government on a wide range of policy issues. His last job before retirement in 2007 was CEO of London Councils, the body which brings together London’s local authorities. Martin is a member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy and has a Master’s degree in management from the University of Kent.

Since his retirement, Martin has had a number of different roles in the not-for-profit sector and has held positions as Chair, Director or Trustee at the following organisations: Film London, The Prince’s Trust, the London Regional Council, the England Council, The Trust, the National Advisory Board, the Daycare Trust, London Sustainability Exchange, the Family Rights Group, the Young Women’s Trust (previously known as the YWCA) and Swanswell. In many of these roles Martin has been or is the lead Trustee on finance.



Rt Hon David Cameron MP

Former Prime Minister and MP for Witney

Dame Julia Samuel

Patron of the Child Bereavement Charity and friend of Diana Princess of Wales

Lord Jack McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Scotland’s former First Minister (2001-2007)

Esther Rantzen CBE

Broadcaster and founder of ChildLine



Singer and model

Twist and Pulse

Founders of Streetomedy

Asafa Powell

Jamaican Sprinter

Paul and Rob Forkan

Founders of Gandy’s Flip Flops

Maggie Turner OBE

Former Chief Executive of the Diana Award and Head of CHIPS programme at ChildLine

Sandara Kelso-Robb OBE

Executive Director, Lloyds TSB Foundation, Northern Ireland

Carrie Grant

Judge and coach on BBC1’s ‘Fame Academy’, ITV’s ‘Pop Idol’, ‘Comic Relief does Fame Academy’ and ‘Glee Club’

Our mission is to inspire and recognise social action in young people.
© 2016 The Diana Award. The Diana Award is a registered charity (1117288 / SC0141915) and a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales number 5739137.
Brand Guide (Coming Soon)
Press Centre (Coming Soon)
Contact Us